Meeting Minutes : Water and Sewer Commission 3/15/22

Town of Pittsford WATER AND SEWER COMMISSION – March 15, 2022 

MEMBERS PRESENT:  Clarence Greeno, Baird Morgan, Helen McKinlay, Ernie Clerihew.  ABSENT:  Thomas “Hank” Pelkey.  OTHERS PRESENT: Kevin Faeth, John Haverstock – Town Manager, Kelly Giard – Recording Secretary.

The Water & Sewer Commission was called to order at 6:30 PM by Chairman Greeno.

J. Haverstock stated that there was a need for Executive Session for Personnel.

J. Haverstock stated that there was no need to amend the agenda. 

Motion by H. McKinlay and seconded by E. Clerihew to adopt the agenda as presented.  Motion passed 4 – 0.


The minutes of the February 15, 2022 meeting were signed, with no corrections.


J. Haverstock reported on the following:

  • There was an e-coli test failure recently at the Wastewater Treatment facility’s discharge area.  The initial test fell below the limits that required public notification.  The cause was found to have been caused by a chlorine line that needed replacing.  There was a retest following this line replacement.  The State was made aware of the testing results and the results of investigatory and repair efforts.


None presented at this time.


Update on Water System Study:

Craig Jewett reports that this is at the 30% design stage and he will be meeting with the Town Manager and the Water Department staff and the State before proceeding to the 60% phase.  

Review State’s Sanitary Survey Report:

J. Haverstock reported that there were two minor findings that are required to be resolved.  These include repairing a gasket at a Spring Box and to modify the storage tank outlet pipe to bring it to 12” above the ground and to install proper screening to avoid insects and other animals from entering the tank.


Update on Depot Hill Road Sewer Project and Budget Status:

J. Haverstock reported that this project is complete, the reimbursement requests have been submitted with about 95% of the funding received.  The remaining invoices will be submitted in the very near future.

Status Report on Renewal of Wastewater Permit:

J. Haverstock reported that there is no update on the permit status.


Review Utility Rates:

J. Haverstock stated that there have been virtually no complaints reported in response to the sewer rate increase.  The auditors are suggesting that the rates be increased modestly annually.  

Consider Utility Bill Abatement Request(s):

Mr. Faeth was present to discuss a concern about which he has been in communication with J. Haverstock regarding his utility bill.  Mr. Faeth stated that he has very low usage and is being charged for 2 ERU’s, which was explained to Mr. Faeth as being 2 kitchen sinks present.  Mr. Faeth stated that he purchased the property in 2013 and is using approximately 11 gallons of water per day and there is there is no usage upstairs as this area has never been rented since he purchased the property.  J. Haverstock read the policy of the billing and recommends the possibility of reducing the ERU assignment from 2 to 1 and tracking usage in the future.  There was discussion regarding the disconnection of the trap and having the Water Department staff inspect and confirm the disconnection.  H. McKinlay stated that other rental unit owners that have had empty apartments have not been granted any relief.  Motion by E. Clerihew and seconded by B. Morgan to assist with the disconnect, change the ERU and monitor the usage starting with the current billing cycle.  Motion passed 3 – 1.

The Water & Sewer Commission entered into Executive Session at 6:56 PM for a Personnel discussion.  

Town Manager Haverstock was invited to remain for Executive Session.

The Water & Sewer Commission exited Executive Session at 6:58 PM, with no action taken.

The next meeting of the Water & Sewer Commission will be held on April 19, 2022.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:58 PM.


Respectfully Submitted,

Kelly Giard
Recording Secretary

Clarence Greeno, Chair

Thomas “Hank” Pelkey, Vice Chair

Ernie Clerihew, Commissioner

Baird Morgan, Commissioner

Helen McKinlay, Commissioner