Meeting Minutes : Water & Sewer Commission



June 18, 2013

Water and Sewer Commission Members Present – Allen Hitchcock, David Pearson, Bob Harnish, Helen McKinlay, and John Lapre.  Others present:  John Haverstock and Kelly Giard – Recording Secretary.

Allen Hitchcock Chairman, called the meeting to order at 6:30 PM. 



The minutes from the May 21, 2013 meeting were signed, with no corrections.


Town Managers Report: 

J. Haverstock reported the following:

·         A “ thank you” to John Lapre who is resigning from the Water & Sewer Commission.  Mr. Lapre brought a lot of knowledge to the Commission during his time of service and will be missed.  Clarence Greeno, resident and user of both the water and sewer systems, has expressed interest in replacing Mr. Lapre and the Select Board will discuss this at their meeting on June 19. 


Public Comment: 

None presented at this time. 



Update on Water System Expansion Project:

J. Haverstock reported that the original water project funding has been received in full and the project is closed.  The ball valves remain an issue as one replacement valve has failed.  A. Y. MacDonald and EJ Prescott will be releasing a study in the future with regard to the frequent failure of ball valves.  J. Haverstock reported that there is currently one property damage claim in process, which Mark Youngstrom is investigating.  J. Lapre explained the variances of residual pressures compared to static pressures.  J. Haverstock read a memo from Mr. Youngstrom concerning this particular claim.


J. Haverstock reported that there was a pre-construction meeting with Bruce Babcock, Shawn Hendee, Mark Youngstrom, John Haverstock, Hank Pelkey, and Champlain Construction representatives concerning the meter system expansion project.


The new customers in the Fire District #1 area and those on the Country Club service line have been contacted concerning metering access.  Bruce Babcock and Shawn Hendee will be conducting the meter installations in the near future.  There was discussion concerning the hook-up charges.  The Inter-Local Agreement waived the hook-up fees for the members of the Fire District #1.  However, Fire District #1 has agreed to pay both an application fee and hook-up fees.  J. Haverstock explained that each new customer will be required to pay $300.   


Motion by J. Lapre and seconded by H. McKinlay to charge the Fire District and the Country Club $500 application fees and the individual residents $300 hook-up fees.  B. Harnish inquired if the Fire District #1 has agreed to pay this fee.  D. Pearson indicated that the Fire District’s Prudential Committee has agreed to the charges.  Motion passed

5 – 0.  J. Haverstock will be communicating with the Country Club and the 8 individuals regarding this change.


Discussion of Well Drilling Fund:

J. Haverstock reported that 19 of the 26 well-drilling loans have been closed.  There was discussion concerning the remaining funds and residents who have not expressed interest in the program.  The Commission asked J. Haverstock to send another communication emphasizing the shut-off deadline and the availability of funds. 


Update on Project Status and Related Engineering Work:

J. Haverstock reported that the USDA/RD grant funding reimbursement has been received.  Mike Smith’s email concerning various projects was read.  Mr. Smith indicated that there is approximately $10,000 remaining in the Wastewater project to spend.  There was discussion of various ways to spend these remaining grant funds. 

Discussion of Otter Valley Union High School Maintenance Agreement:

J. Haverstock explained that the costs associated with Jack Shedd working at Otter Valley High School were evaluated.  The current draft of an updated agreement asks for a 3% increase in annual charges.  Otter Valley agreed to the proposed changes to the agreement.  OVUHS recognizes that Pittsford will discontinue service once Mr. Shedd retires.  OVUHS objects to paying Jack’s commuting mileage.


Water & Sewer:

The members of the Water & Sewer Commission agreed to recommend to the Select Board the appointment of Clarence Greeno to the Water & Sewer Commission.



None presented at this time.


Executive Session:

Motion by A. Hitchcock and seconded by J. Lapre to enter into Executive Session for the purpose of Legal.


The Water and Sewer Commission entered into Executive Session at 7:08 PM.  J. Haverstock was invited to stay. 

The Water and Sewer Commission came out of Executive Session at 7:20 PM, with no action taken.


The Commission adjourned at 7:20 PM.

The next regular meeting will be held on July 16, 2013.

Respectfully Submitted

Kelly Giard, Recording Secretary                                                                                                                                                                                                                 


Allen Hitchcock, Chair


                                                                        John Lapre, Vice Chair


                                                            Helen McKinlay


Bob Harnish


David Pearson