Meeting Minutes : Water & Sewer Commission



October 30, 2012


Water and Sewer Commission Members Present – Allen Hitchcock, Bob Harnish, Dave Boles, John Lapre and Helen McKinlay.  Others present:  Mark Youngstrom, John Haverstock and Kelly Giard – Recording Secretary.


Allen Hitchcock, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 6:30 PM.


Town Managers Report:

J. Haverstock reported the following:

  • The Plains Road sewer pipe project was completed in time for the Annual Haunted House.


Public Comment:

None presented at this time.


Water and Sewer:

Adjust Water & Sewer ERU Designations:

Mark Youngstrom was present to discuss the ERU designations for the water customers and the sewer customers.


Mr. Youngstrom explained that a traditional ERU means “equivalent residential user.”


There was discussion concerning the ERU proposal that was presented by Otter Creek Engineering (Mark Youngstrom).


Motion by A. Hitchcock and seconded by D. Boles to accept the proposed re-designation of water and sewer ERU’s as proposed, with future review of Lothrop Elementary ERU proportions in the near future.  Motion amended by J. Lapre to designate 12 water ERU’s and 12 sewer ERU’s for the Lothrop School.  Motion, as amended, passed unanimously 5 – 0.


Set New Sewer Rates:

Mark Youngstrom discussed flat-rate vs. flow-based pricing structures.  Mr. Youngstrom recommended following the water rate structure, which would include the bond payment (per ERU) + base rate (0 – 6000) gallons and a metered overage charge.


Motion by A. Hitchcock and seconded by H. McKinlay to accept the proposed sewer rate structure.  Motion passed unanimously 5 – 0.


J. Haverstock explained that the next steps would involve a letter about the new sewer rates being sent to all sewer users and NEMRC being contacted to modify the billing processes.


There was discussion concerning a billing rate for the few non-metered customers.  Mr. Youngstrom will calculate the appropriate flat rate and provide this to the Town Manager.



None presented at this time.


Executive Session:

None required at this time.



The Commission adjourned at 7:00 PM.


The next regular meeting will be held on November 20, 2012.


Respectfully Submitted



Kelly Giard, Recording Secretary


Allen Hitchcock, Chair


                                                                        John Lapre, Vice Chair


                                                            Helen McKinlay


Bob Harnish


Dave Boles