Meeting Minutes : Water and Sewer Commission


February 22, 2011

Water and Sewer Commission Members Present – John Lapre, Bob Harnish, and Helen McKinlay. Absent:  Allen Hitchcock and Hope Rantanen.  Others present:  Dorothy Parkinson and John Haverstock.

John Lapre, Vice Chairman, called the meeting to order at 4:03 PM.


Public Comment:

None stated at this time.



Review Bids on Water Department Office Project:

J. Haverstock presented 7 bids which were received.  There were 15 contractors present at the initial pre-bid meeting.


J. Haverstock indicated that the lowest base bid and lowest overall bid was received from the McKernon Group at a base bid of $11,490 with a total overall bid of $13,490, which includes alternates #1 (priming/pointing bathroom/$1,000) and #3 (patch concrete pad/$1,000) with alternate #2 (external steel walls to match) included in the base bid.


J. Haverstock explained the project and the inclusion of the alternates.  J. Haverstock indicated that the Town Manager’s authority to spend Town funds is normally $5,000 without approval by an overseeing board.  J. Haverstock requested pre-authorization to spend up to $3,000 in the case of incidentals being required in the project. J. Haverstock indicated that some of these incidentals would be for shelving or insulation, as well as any possibility of additional electrical work that may be required.

J. Haverstock explained the current Water Department office setting resembles a “closet”.

J. Haverstock indicated that the funding for the project will be coming from revenues from the sale several years ago of the aqueduct building.


Motion by J. Lapre and seconded by B. Harnish to award the project to the McKernon Group, with the bid of $13,490, as well as a $3,000 authorization to the Town Manager for incidentals that may arise during the construction project.  Passed unanimously 3 – 0.


J. Haverstock will be in contact with the McKernon Group to announce the bid award and will advise the Commission members as to the date that the construction may begin.



The Commission adjourned at 4:15 PM.


The next meeting will be held on March 15, 2011.


Respectfully Submitted



Kelly Giard, Recording Secretary


Allen Hitchcock, Chair



John Lapre, Vice Chair



Hope Rantanen



Helen McKinlay



Bob Harnish