Meeting Minutes : Water & Sewer Commission

July 20, 2010

Water and Sewer Commission Members Present – Allen Hitchcock, John Lapre, Hope Rantanen and Helen McKinlay. Others present:  Joe Gagnon, Mike Smith, John Haverstock, and Kelly Giard – Recording Secretary.

Allen Hitchcock, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 8:00 PM.


The minutes from the June 15, 2010 and the July 6, 2010 meeting were signed with no corrections.

Town Managers Report:

J. Haverstock reported on the following items:

  • The water project is nearing completion with Whipple Hollow Road section to be completed no later than October 1, 2010.  Patch paving will to be done in the Arch Street areas. Roughly 10 – 15 meters remain to be installed.  A. Hitchcock inquired the reasons behind the uninstalled meters.  J. Haverstock indicated that some folks are not available, the Fire Academy must first remove asbestos,and some people have fragile service lines.  J. Haverstock indicated that there is a possibility that these residents will either be billed as flat rate or utilize current meters, if applicable.  Mark Youngstrom will be consulted in this matter.
  • The Sewer Bond Vote passed 124 – 37.  Notice of the vote’s outcome has been given to the Rutland Herald.  Residents who requested to be contacted have been contacted and the State will be notified on July 21, 2010.
  • Proctor Officials held a public meeting on July 15 with regard to the impending removal of Pittsford residents from their water system.  A. Hitchcock indicated that he also attended this meeting and the Pittsford residents that were in attendance voiced their concerns.  The target disconnect date is sometime in 2012.

Public Comment:

None presented at this time.


Update on Project Status:

The water project is winding down.  The metering installation is almost complete.  Otter Creek Engineering will be contacted with regard to the positive Bond Vote for the sewer project as this will affect the paving in the Arch Street areas.  J. Haverstock indicated that a letter should be sent to the residents in the affected area explaining that there would be temporary patch paving this year and a final reconstruction of roads once the sewer work is done next year.

J. Lapre inquired when the Whipple Hollow Road section will be completed.  J. Haverstock indicated that there is no firm date, however, Markowski is aware that the paving contractor will be working in this area in August.

Consideration of Request for Compensation for Water Customer’s Damage:

An email has been received from a resident on the Town Hill Road noting that there was an extreme water pressure “surge” on June 4, 2010 which caused a basement to flood and some valves to be damaged.  J. Haverstock indicated that the customer is requesting $127.39 for this damage.  J. Haverstock indicated that he has spoken with Mark Youngstrom with regard to this incident and there were no indications that this was  related to the water project.  J. Lapre inquired if Bruce Babcock was contacted.  J. Haverstock indicated that Mr. Babcock had no knowledge as to what happened, either.  J. Lapre inquired if the static pressure is tested at each meter installation.  J. Haverstock will consult with the Meter & Backflow installers.

Motion by H. McKinlay and seconded by H. Rantanen to compensate this customer for the $127.39.  Motion passed 4 – 0.

Water Issues:

A. Hitchcock indicated that the reservoir was recently “rapidly” depleted.  J. Haverstock reported that OMYA had a valve turned in the wrong direction, thus causing the usage of 1000 + gallons per minute.  J. Haverstock reported that this has been corrected and that Carl Crawford has been contacted to see how soon the Florence well station can be brought on line in the event that this happens again.


Review Results of the Sewer Bond Vote:

The bond vote passed 124 – 37.

Discussion of Next Steps to Address Sewer System Issues:

Mike Smith indicated that the information about the bond vote will be forwarded to Rural Development for the final approval of a loan/grant application.  There is a verbal approval currently in place.  A. Hitchcock inquired about the timing of the project.  Mr. Smith indicated that he will forward the documents to J. Haverstock for review, and consultation with the Commission before submission.  Mr. Smith indicated that these documents should be completed within the next two weeks.  Mr. Smith recommended that the bids be separate for the sewer lines and the Wastewater Treatment Facility work.  A. Hitchcock inquired what the timing would be for the Treatment Facility.  Mr. Smith indicated that the advertisements could begin in August.  Mr. Smith indicated that there is a 45-day loan/grant application review time. However, this may be expedited.  Mr. Smith indicated that the bid documents are completed.  Mr. Smith indicated that the Elm Street and Arch Street area segments could be advertised for bid in late winter.

J. Haverstock inquired how the digester covers would be bid.  Mr. Smith indicated that these would be a deductive alternate.

Mr. Smith indicated that he will be in contact with Jonathan Harries from the State to alert him that this information is coming and maybe this would expedite the process.

J. Haverstock inquired what documentation is needed.  Mr. Smith indicated that the certification of the successful bond vote will need to be forwarded to him for inclusion in the bid packet.

J. Haverstock indicated that he would like to meet with Mike Smith, Linda Drummond, and Denise Mahoney with regard to loan/grant administration when the time is right.

J. Haverstock indicated that there should be a notification sent to Brian Kooiker that the bond vote passed and that the project will be progressing.


None stated at this time.

Executive Session

A motion by H. McKinlay and seconded by H. Rantanen to enter into Executive Session at 8:34 PM for the purpose of Contracts.  Passed unanimously.


The Commission exited Executive Session at 8:38 PM with no action taken.

The next meeting will be held on August 17, 2010.

Respectfully Submitted

Kelly Giard, Recording Secretary


Allen Hitchcock, Chair


John Lapre, Vice Chair


Hope Rantanen


Helen McKinlay