Meeting Minutes : Select Board

Pittsford Select Board

July 18, 2012

The meeting was called to order at 6:30PM by Thomas “Hank” Pelkey, Chairman.

Select Board members present:  Joseph Gagnon, Thomas “Hank” Pelkey, Allen Hitchcock, Thomas Hooker and Jane Cornell.

Also present:  Bev Peterson, Mike Gecha, Lucia Suarez, Jean Corbett, Ann Rademacher, Wayne Giard (6:37 PM), Charlie Rivers (6:37 PM), John Haverstock and Kelly Giard, Recording Secretary



The Select Board minutes from the July 11, 2012 meeting were signed, with no changes.



The orders in the amount of $20,828.00 (General Fund – FY ‘12); $6,423.32 (General Fund – FY ’13) and $17,540.50 (Payroll) were approved, with the following discussion:


A. Hitchcock inquired about the expense for the pump station.  J. Haverstock explained that this was for the small pump station that is located at the Transfer Station for pump repair and replacement.


J. Gagnon inquired about the expense for the inspection and oil for the Fire Department F550.  T. Hooker indicated that this was for an entire inspection of the vehicle.



J. Haverstock reported that following:

  • There will be a bond vote on July 31 from 7:00 AM – 7:00 PM to consider two articles (Article #1 – to add Fire District #1, the Proctor/Pittsford Country Club, and 8 Corn Hill residents to the water system at an estimated cost of $260,000.  Article #2 – to authorize the town to borrow up to $200,000 to loan to residents that will be abandoned by the Proctor water system.)  There will be informational meetings on July 24 at 6:30 PM (to discuss Article #1) and at 8:00 PM (to discuss Article #2).  These meetings will be held at the Lothrop Gym.
  • The sewer project is complete, with the exception of paving of Arch Street and Pleasant Street.  The Plains Road portion will be completed, and there is approximately $40,000 in sewer grant funds still remaining.
  • The Model T visit was a great success with the participants visiting the Recreation Area and local businesses.
  • The newsletter will be out soon and includes information on the bond vote.



Bev Peterson spoke on the presentation of Trish Lewis (Rutland Regional Planning Commission) at the last Select Board meeting.  Ms. Peterson read a statement from Carol Geary that was originally addressed to the RRPC with regard to the proposed wind project.


Jean Corbett inquired about the source for water for Pittsford water customers.  A. Hitchcock explained that there are 5 springs that feed into the reservoir and that water is then gravity fed to Florence.  Mike Gecha inquired about the amount of daily flow of water.  J. Haverstock will locate this information for Mr. Gecha.



Status Update on Joint Proposal to Connect to Town Water System and Discussion of Bond Vote Preparations:

J. Haverstock explained the bond vote proposals.  There will be informational meetings on July 24, 2012 at 6:30 PM (for the expansion of the water system) and at 8:00 PM (for the loaning of State funds through the Town for well-drilling).  The USDA is requiring a commitment prior to August 3, 2012 regarding the water expansion project.  The proposed funding package includes a 42% grant and 58% in loan funds at 2.75% over 40 years.  The State funds that are available are to help residents that are being abandoned by Proctor to drill wells.


Re-Execution of Sewer Loan Documents:

The members signed the loan documents to close out the loan funding for the sewer project.



Discussion of Transfer Station Safety:

J. Haverstock indicated that in light of a recent motor vehicle accident, the operators have requested that First Aid Kits are re-stocked and updated, as well as the addition of other items such as a tote to keep everything clean and dust free, an 8’ x 8’ tarp, blankets, non-latex gloves, large gauze pads, and a sign encouraging patrons to shut-off vehicles.


J. Gagnon inquired where this kit would be stored.  Mr. Rivers indicated that this would be stored in the compactor building.  Ms. Corbett inquired if there was a phone at the Transfer Station.  Mr. Rivers indicated that there is a phone in the compactor building and most of the operators have cell phones.


Ms. Rademacher inquired where in Town there were first aid kits.  J. Haverstock reported that there are kits at the Recreation Area, Transfer Station, Wastewater Treatment Facility, Highway Garage, Town Office and soon at the new Water Department office.


A. Hitchcock indicated that there should be a review of the traffic pattern as there are residents walking from one side of the driveway to the recycling area and people backing up don’t always see them walking.


The members all agree with checking the safety equipment.


Mike Gecha recommended putting the “No idling” statement on the ticket that is handed out upon entry.  Ms. Rademacher also recommended adding information to the newsletter.

Mr. Rivers and Mr. Giard exited at 7:00 PM.



Expansion of Town Planning Commission and Appointment of New Members:

J. Haverstock has spoken with Don Nickless, Chair of the Planning Commission, and he endorses increasing the number of members on the Planning Commission from 3 to 5.


Motion by A. Hitchcock and seconded by T. Hooker to increase the Planning Commission from 3 members to 5 members.  Motion passed unanimously 5 – 0.


J. Haverstock indicated that Don Nickless reviewed the interested candidate information and recommended that Mike Gecha and Chris Bietzel be appointed.


Motion by A. Hitchcock and seconded by J. Cornell to appoint Mike Gecha and Chris Bietzel to the Planning Commission, based on the recommendation of Don Nickless.  Motion passed unanimously 5 – 0.



J. Cornell inquired about the High Risk Rural Road information that was included in the packets.  J. Haverstock explained that this is something from the Rutland Regional Transportation Council and assesses intersections and roads within town for safety.



None presented at this time.



None presented at this time.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:11 PM.

The next meeting will be held on August 1, 2012.

Respectfully Submitted,


Kelly Giard, Recording Secretary


Thomas “Hank” Pelkey, Chairman


Allen Hitchcock, Vice Chairman


           W. Joseph Gagnon, Selectman



           Jane Cornell, Selectman


               Thomas Hooker, Selectman